Da Do Run Run Run, Da Do Run Run

 

ChallengeQuote_WEBWell, here it is – the week before my first race of 2014. I am super anxious but so excited to get out into the running community and push myself to see what I can accomplish. You see, I have always wanted to be a runner, but I always let fear stand in the way. For one, I smoked for most of my twenties and even a bit into my thirties and I always knew that I could never be a good runner if I smoked. Once I kicked that habit, I then let the fear of being too slow stand in my way. I even secretly thought about volunteering to be the last person to finish 5K races so that some other poor soul wouldn’t feel horrible for coming in last. Apparently, my fears are not unusual. The mental obstacles, such as being out of shape or too slow, are the hardest part of starting a running program, says Jonathan Cane, a running coach for Brooklyn-based JackRabbit athletics store. When he starts with a new beginners running group, he always asks them who is afraid they will be the slowest and he always has half the group raise their hands! So, if you are afraid, you are not alone! Here are some great programs that will get you started on your running journey. All you have to do is tell the voice in your head that says that you are never going to be fast enough to shut the $%&^# up and get out on the road or hop on a treadmill and get started.

Beginnner Walking/ Jogging/ Running Plans:

Not readyFeb 043 to run yet but have a goal of a 5K in the future? Try this walking plan: http://www.halhigdon.com/training/50936/Walking-5K-Training

Feel like you could run a mile and a half already and want to slowly increase your distance?  Try this 5K training plan: http://www.halhigdon.com/training/50933/5K-Novice-Training-Program

Here’s a super popular plan that also has an App (Couch to 5K).  It’s great for those who want to build up to running by doing a walk/jog combination: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

