Ready to Smoke the Competition (and a Smoky Chili Recipe!)

Coach delivered my workouts into my inbox today and I am psyched! We are doing traditional bodybuilding workouts 4 days a week and cardio 4 days a week (2 steady state workouts, which will be my running workouts and then 2 days of HIIT – High Intensity Interval Training). In addition to these workouts, I have my secret weapons…. DERBY PRACTICES twice a week, which burn an average of 600-800 calories.
As for nutrition, I will be starting with the following macronutrients: 150 grams of carbs, 145 grams of protein and 35 grams of fat. If you are following along with my transformation and are interested in changing your diet but don’t know where to start, I highly recommend reading this post by one of my favorite bloggers – Andrea Valdez.  It will explain how to figure out how many calories you should start with and how many carbs, protein and fat grams you should eat for fat loss (I do a 40%protein, 40%carb and 20%fat split). 

So, that is the plan for now.  I have started prepping my food in advance during the week (usually on Sundays and Wednesdays).  This weekend, I made a pot of yummy smoky chili that is high in protein, has moderate carbs and almost no fat.

Pepper’s Chipotle Chili

Chili

Ingredients:

16 ounce package of extra lean ground turkey
1 can cannelini beans – drained
2 mini cans of chiles (I used the fire roasted ones)
1 pack of Trader Joe’s pre-chopped onion, shallot and garlic (you can just chop your own onions and garlic if you don’t have access to the TJ’s pre-chopped pack)
1 bell pepper
1 large pack of mushrooms
1 medium zucchini
1 15 ounce can of tomato sauce (look for the one with the lowest amount of sugar possible)
1 Tbsp. chipotle chili powder
1 Tbsp. roasted cumin (regular cumin works fine too!)
 IngredientsTurkey and VeggiesDec 057ChiliDec 063Dec 062

Directions:

In a large pot sprayed with pam or coconut oil spray, cook the lean ground turkey.  While the turkey is cooking, you can chop your veggies (zucchini, mushrooms, bell pepper).  Add veggies to the pot along with the onion, shallot and garlic mix. Once the veggies are tender, add the cannelini beans (rinsed and drained) and the can of tomato sauce.  At this point, see how the consistency is and add a little water if needed (my hubby likes his chili thin – I like mine thicker).  Add the cumin and chili powder and stir.  The last ingredient to add are the canned chiles.  I like a lot so I put in 2 cans, but you can put one in and see how the chili is and add more if needed.  Let the chili simmer for a half hour until the flavors meld together. 
 

Nutrition:

Per serving (5 servings total):
Calories: 209
Protein: 27g
Carbs: 19g
Fat: 1 g

I don’t eat a lot of dairy, but I do like to shred an ounce of this cheese on top of my chili:

Cheese

It is totally yummy and has 40 calories, lots of protein and no fat or carbs.  If you are nervous about eating it let me reassure you.  I learned about this cheese on youtube from this lady:

Pauline Nordin

Bodybuilding.com

This is Pauline Nordin, creator of the “Fighter Diet”.  Trust me – if you don’t have an issue with dairy, eat the cheese :-).  You can find it at Whole Foods!

Enjoy!

XOXO,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready to Smoke the Competition (and a Smoky Chili Recipe!)

  1. hey girl! thanks so much for the shout-out! Nice blog you have here!

    I always thought that derby stuff was SOOO COOL!!! lol Looks like a lot of fun 🙂

    I’ll have to try that “core to the bottom drawer” workout from your last post during my next cardio day haha..thanks for the share!

Leave a Reply

