I Heart Eggs

 You hear it ALL the time. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day (blah blah blah)and sets the tone for the rest of your day (blah blah blah). But If I had a dime for every time someone said to me, “BUT Pepper, I don’t have the TIME to eat breakfast!”, I would seriously be able to retire.

My good friend and fitness coach recently told me to eat eggs for breakfast – WITHOUT complex carbs. After I shed a few tears for the loss of my gluten-free oats, it really sunk in WHY it was important to eat protein alone first thing in the morning. It makes my body less carb sensitive and thus better able to lose fat (basically, when insulin is high, you can’t release fat. Click here for a great blog post about it from Coach Calorie.)

So, what’s a gal to do when she needs a high protein, easy to make and take, low carb breakfast? 

Eggs.  So versatile that I will even show you THREE ways to do them so you can be out the door in NO TIME FLAT. Yes, they may require some advance cooking (no, not advanced silly – they are easy!) but trust me, the time you will save is priceless. 

Behold the EGG MUFFIN.  With hot sauce (well in my case, I put sriracha sauce on it – so yummy!)  These little beauts were made by putting 6 whole eggs and one whole quart of egg whites in a bowl and mixing well.  I heated the oven to 350 degrees, poured the egg mixture into a muffin tin that makes 6 extra-large muffins* and cooked them for 45 minutes.  DELISH!  *If you don’t have an extra-large muffin tin NO PROBLEM!  Just use a regular muffin tin that makes 12 and eat 2 for breakfast.  Put them into individual containers or ziplock baggies and reheat before eating them.  I promise they will NOT taste like rubber. 🙂

Egg Muffin with Sriracha

The next way that I love to make eggs in advance is in a lasagna pan with LOTS of veggies.  Now, I tried to make these in muffin tins, but with all the veggies, it was just too difficult to only make 6 servings and have them be well measured….  Let my disaster work for you folks.  Anyway – same recipe as the muffins above, but for this recipe, you put lots of whatever veggies you like in the egg mixture.  I use mushrooms, peppers and onions.  Spray your pan with pam or coconut oil spray and bake for 45 minutes.  Cut into 6 pieces and reheat as needed!  Yummy! 

Raw Mixture

Cooked Egg “Casserole”

Okay , here’s the last way that I love to eat eggs when I am pressed for time.  BUT in THIS scenario, I am in a pinch and DO NOT have prepared eggs already in the fridge.  This is where I take 6 minutes to actually COOK my eggs that morning.  I spray my glass Tupperware bowl with pam spray and then put in one whole egg and 4 egg whites.  I mix them a little with a fork and a put a dash of stevia and a sprinkling of cinnamon while I am mixing.  Sometimes, when I am feeling particularly saucy, I put some vanilla extract in too.  I put this in the microwave and cook for 4 minutes.  There you have it!  French toast eggs.  So delicious and easy and really, is 6 minutes THAT much time out of your day to set the tone for great eating? 

French Toast Eggs

Let me know if you have any questions! Until next time, eat your breakfast! 

XOXO,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

