Athleta Opening and Bikini Bread

I heart Athleta.  The thing I love most about their stuff is that it is so versatile!  Going to the grocery store after sprinting at the track?  No problemo, just throw on this running skort and a cute sweat wicking top and nobody will ever know while you are looking at the produce that you just worked out like a beast!

For me, the only downside to Athleta was having to order everything online, since the closest store for me is a pretty far hike.  BUT, that being said, I think that Athleta’s shipping and customer service is unparalleled.  I can order a few of the same item in different sizes and then whichever ones don’t work, I can ship them back free of charge.  Additionally, if I find that I love something but when I workout in it, it rides up or is just plain uncomfortable, I can send it back.  I mean, how awesome is THAT?

I was so excited last week to be able to attend the grand opening of an Athleta store that just opened that is not too far from me!  I was psyched! 

Pinch me!

Pinch me!

I was able to go in and see all the cool clothes set up by style and color….. it was awesome!  I even got to see some clothes on mannequins. 

The place was PACKED with people who were just as excited as me to be able to see all the clothes in person.  They handed out little glasses of water and wine and served appetizers too.  The BEST part for me, however, was seeing this:

FITTING ROOM!!!!!

FITTING ROOM!!!!!

I grabbed a bunch of items and got to try them on.  It was awesome.  I found this dress that could be worn to work, for errands on the weekend, at the beach, etc.  I couldn’t wait, so I wore it to work the next day 🙂 Here’s a pic of me in the gym locker room :

june 014

I cannot wait to go back and look around some more!  It is such a nice store and the people are so friendly.  Oh, and if you are a group fitness instructor, be sure to show them your certification card for a 30% discount! 

Garden Update and a Recipe!

So, our garden is BOOMING this year!  I don’t know if it is all the rain we have been getting on the east coast, or if it is the extra “love” we put in the soil this year.  And yes, by love, I mean “manure”.  There, I said it. 

Zucchini

Zucchini

Lettuce and Celery

Lettuce and Celery

Tomatoes

Tomatoes

Peppers and Eggplant

Peppers and Eggplant

Green Beans

Green Beans

Since we have gotten a bunch of zucchini already, I decided to make some zucchini bread.  But…. not just any old zucchini bread….

Zucchini (without busting out of your bikini) Bread

Inspired by Spoonful of Fit’s Zucchini Bread
Zucchini Bread

Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:
2 cups oat flour (I used Arrowhead Mills)
1/2 cup stevia in the raw
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
pinch of salt
1/2 cup liquid egg whites (or 2 egg whites)
1 cup of packed grated zucchini (I just threw mine in the food processor with the grater attachment)
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
4 oz. unsweetened applesauce
 
Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 350 F. Grate your zucchini and set aside.  Place all dry ingredients in a bowl and mix.  Add applesauce, egg whites, almond milk and zuuchini to the bowl and mix well.  Place equal amounts into 2 loaf pans sprayed with nonstick spray (I use coconut oil spray from Trader Joe’s).  Or, you could just use one loaf pan and make a larger loaf.  Place in oven for 45 minutes or until the top is golden brown and a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Enjoy while eating your bikini!

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

