What Do YOU Train For?

You know what is awesome?

Photo Credit: bravolifecoaching.com

Photo Credit: bravolifecoaching.com

Know what is EVEN BETTER?  Exercising for a purpose! 

Photo Credit: Kaseyesser.com

Photo Credit: Kaseyesser.com

I have been struggling with motivation lately.  I love working out, don’t get me wrong.  It is a hobby of mine now and I liken it to knitting or playing an instrument.  But lately, I have been thinking to myself, “What is the end product? What am I training for?” 

You could say that I am training for life.  Training to be able to pick up my 40 plus pound children and take them up to bed (thank you deadlifts and biceps curls!).  Or, maybe you could say that I am training to be able to carry the groceries up the stairs or be able to run with my kids to the playground.  And you would be right!  But, sometimes, there is a yearning in your heart that goes far deeper than just being able to rock your day-to-day activities.  A girl needs goals that transcend the ordinary. 

imagesCAJHSFV4

Two of my close friends recently started playing roller derby.  They excitedly tell me all the time how cool it is and what awesome stuff they are learning.  I listened to all of their cool tales of skating genius but never really considered it for myself.  I was worried about being able to commit to two practices a week and well, to be honest, I never really thought I was cool enough for derby.  I mean, those girls are badass.  But last week changed that for me.  I met my girlfriends who play derby at a local sports complex (thanks again for the ticket Mol!) for a huge derby event and got to see what all the excitement was about first hand! I got to see some of the best teams in the country play against each other and I was mesmerized!  When I left, it was all I could think about!  These girls were strong and athletic, but most importantly, they were wives, mothers, lawyers, teachers, retail workers, etc.  They were (extra)ordinary people who played a sport that they love!  The next day, my friend Jen shot me a post on Facebook with a name suggestion that was just too cool to pass up (I’ll tell you what it is soon!).  And so, the next day, I went to my very first derby practice.  And I LOVED IT! 

So, what am I doing in the gym now, you might ask?  I am lifting weights so that I can knock some derby girls on their butts.  I am taking yoga so that I am flexible and won’t injure myself during derby drills.  I am doing plyometrics so that I can build up my endurance and be able to skate longer.  Why?  Because now, I have purpose. 

Man I love saying that.

Mollie and Me

Mollie and Me

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

