Are you Toxic?

How’s your mental clarity?  Do you feel like you have a stuffy head?  How about some fatigue or difficulty sleeping?  Are you currently or have you in the past few minutes craved chocolate (if you are a woman, the answer probably is yes).  Do you have digestion issues?  How’s your libido?

Okay, enough with the personal questions, but if you answered yes to any of these, you may need to expel some toxins from your body.  A few days ago, I blogged about endocrine disruptors and chemicals that we use on our bodies and in our environment.  Research shows that lots of chemicals can disrupt our immune, endocrine, nervous, and reproductive systems.  Examples of these are: caffeine, cigarette smoke, cosmetics, heavy metals, household cleaners, pesticides and herbicides, pharmaceuticals and preservatives. 

So, what can I do to get rid of these toxins?

Glad you asked!

On Wednesday, my acupuncturist convinced me to do the Standard Process Purification Cleanse so that I could rid myself of the toxins in my body. (Click on the link to learn more!) I am hoping that once I clear out the toxins, my body will start to work more efficiently (as well as balancing my hormones!).

Cleanse Booklet

Cleanse Booklet

At first I wasn’t so sure I could do it – it involves brown rice protein shakes, lots of fruit and veggies and lentils or brown rice for the first 10 days.  After that, you can eat lean protein.  But then, I remembered that duh, I had been vegan for 6 months so it would be a lot like that at first.  I have spoken with several people who have done the cleanse and they raved about it!  Here are some of the benefits that I may get from the cleanse:  Weight management (yay!), increased energy (bring it!), better digestion, less bloating, clearer thinking, clearer skin, shinier hair, disappearance or lessening of past conditions like PMS, digestive problems, etc., and better sleep.  Who couldn’t use some of those?

Here is what my shopping order looked like on Wednesday night.

Shopping Order

Shopping Order

I started yesterday.  I must admit that yesterday was not one of my finest days.  I was really cranky from caffeine withdrawal (it is way better today!). 

Here are a couple of things I have been drinking/eating over the past day and a half.

Standard Process Protein Shake

Yummy Strawberries

Yummy Strawberries

Greens, Cucumber, Beets and Avocado Salad

I made a delicious lentil and mushroom stew on Wednesday night to eat for dinner this week.  It is awesome!  I will post a recipe soon. 

So, here is to the next 19 and a half days!  I am excited to let you all know how it goes.  Oh and in case you are wondering, I am going to keep doing the Sweaty Betties program.  I love it so far and am hoping that with all the added energy from the cleanse, I will rock it even more!

XOXO,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Adrenal Fatigue, Detox, Healthy Eating, Hormones, Metabolic Damage/Rehab, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

