My Chemical Free Romance

Better living through chemistry? Hmmmm…. sometimes I wonder.

I have been reading a lot lately about endocrine disruptors, those crazy chemicals that are all around us that interfere with normal hormonal function in our bodies. As you know, I have been struggling with some hormone issues lately which has led me try yoga, acupuncture, changes to my diet, etc.  Another thing that I am now taking a closer look at are the choices that I make with regards to the products I use.

The bodybuilding lifestyle insists that you become intimate with Tupperware and plastic baggies. How else can you go to a dance club and still look fine (and I mean fiiiiinne) without throwing a piece of chicken in a plastic baggie in your purse? I do a lot of food prep on the weekend and plastic containers are quick and cheap and easy. Here’s the issue…. lots of those plastic containers contain chemicals that leach into the food. I have realized that I think I need to invest in some more of the glass containers for my food prep. And besides, I can never get the taste of soap out of my plastics when I wash them anyway. So, food not tasting like soap…. that is a WIN.

Other things that I am reconsidering are the chemicals I put on my body…. lotions, potions, shampoos, conditioner, perfume…etc. I thought it would be fun to try out a few of the things I have been reading on other blogs lately. Check it out:

One of my favorite bloggers Megan at “The Detoxinista” washes her face with olive oil!  It actually feels really nice and you don’t need moisturizer!  Hm… cost-effective AND good for you.

Happy Herbivore uses baking soda to wash her face AND uses it as a deoderant.   Oh, and while we are taking baking soda into the bathroom with us, why not use it as a shampoo like naturemoms does? Here’s a quick hint – apple cider vinegar rinse….

Oh, and speaking of vinegar… instead of using all those chemicals in your kitchen, why not try vinegar and water in a spray bottle.  If you want a little bit of a different scent than vinegar, you can mask some of the vinegar scent with a little essential oil like lemon or eucalyptus.  Here are some great tips from Wellness Mama!

So, this morning, I tried olive oil on my face, baking soda and vinegar in my hair AND as a deodorant.  Surprisingly, I did not get to work smelling like a big ole salad….  Here- I even took a selfie to show you that my hair didn’t turn into a big frizz ball without my normal conditioner!

And, in honor of feeling a little less high maintenance and a little more “granola”, here is a recipe! 

Granola “Bites”

(inspired and adapted from one of my favorite blogger’s “Godwin Bars”)

 

Ingredients:

1 cup brown rice krispies cereal (I used Whole Foods 365 brand)
1 and ½ cups Flax Plus Cereal
4 large Medjool Dates (take the pits out before processing them!)
2 TBSP Sunflower Seed Butter
¼ cup raw cashews
¼ cup unsweetened Almond Milk
A handful of craisins
Pinch of cinnamon

Directions:  

Line a cookie sheet with tin foil and spray with a bit of coconut oil or Pam spray.  Pre-heat your oven at 350 degrees. Place cereals in food processor and pulse until crumbly.  Pour into a large bowl and set aside. Place dates, sunflower seed butter, cashews and cinnamon in the food processor until well blended (be patient – this could take a few minutes).  Once well blended, add the cereal mixture and a handful of craisins and pulse several times while slowly adding the almond milk.  The mixture should be slightly wet but still crumbly. Take a tablespoon and scoop out some of the mixture.  Press against the side of the food processor so that the mixture gets “packed” into the spoon.  It should pop out easily from the spoon.  Place your “bites” on the lined cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 8 minutes.

Enjoy!  XOXO

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

