Sweatin’ to the “Oldies” and Cookies for Dinner!

Despite STILL being sore from my Week 4 leg workout on Sunday, I went to yoga last night and boy am I glad I went! The instructor is one of my favorites – she is extremely good at verbally explaining the poses with such detail that you could close your eyes and do them. She is incredibly motivating too – she truly makes you feel like you can do ANYTHING. She teaches a Pilates mat class before the yoga class on Monday nights and last night when I walked in she was playing Simon and Garfunkel’s greatest hits. She just left it on during yoga, so we did our poses to songs like “Sound of Silence” and “The Boxer”. There is nothing more powerful than doing Warrior Pose to “I AM A ROCK… I AM AN ISLAND”… So awesome on so many levels.
After class, I thought I recognized a guy in the back of the room from our local frozen yogurt place. I stopped him as I was grabbing some antibacterial wipes to ask him if he was the owner of the store. Turns out, he IS! So, we talked about yummy flavors and I asked him (okay, I begged) to see if he could use stevia instead of splenda in their no sugar added flavors. He said he would look into it! YAY!

I hadn’t eaten dinner before I went to yoga, soooooo when I got home, I MAY have eaten cookies for dinner (not telling!)….

Pepper’s Almond Oat Cookies

Almond Oat Cookies

Ingredients:

1 Cup Oat Flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free)
1 Cup Almond Flour
1 Whole Egg
1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
Pinch of Salt
1/2 cup stevia in the raw
Chocolate chips or chunks (I used the Enjoy Life brand Mega Chocolate Chunks)

Directions:

Mix all dry ingredients and then add the egg. Blend well. Roll into little balls and place on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Press a chocolate chunk into the top of each little cookie. Bake at 350 degrees for 14 minutes.  Makes 15 cookies.  Each cookie has 80 calories, 5 g fat, 7g carbs (1.5g fiber and 1g sugar), and 2g of protein.

These cookies are amazingly versatile.  You can add cinnamon, toasted almond slices instead of chocolate chips, raisins, craisins, cocoa powder, a little jam on top like a thumbprint (yummy!)…. If you are omitting the chocolate chunks, the nutrition is: 70cals, 4g fat, 5g carbs and 2g protein.

They are really chewy and the flavor is very mild – not a strong almond taste at all.  Enjoy!  Let me know if you make them and if you add anything fun!  They make a perfect dinner.  Just kidding (okay, not really….) 

XOXO,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweatin’ to the “Oldies” and Cookies for Dinner!

  1. Hi there. 1 – I want those chocolate chip cookies. 2- I nominated you for YET ANOTHER blogger award. Congrats!
    http://sheslosingit.net/2013/04/30/7-things-you-might-find-useful/

    Lisa 🙂

    P.S. – Please “like” my FB page. I feel much more confident asking you to do this now that I’ve nominated you for an award. I’m all about bribery.

    http://www.facebook.com/ShesLosingItnet

Leave a Reply

