Weeks 3 and 4 – Sweaty Betties Program and WIAW!

Here we are at week 3 of Sweaty Betties Progressive Lifting Program. So far so good!

Danny J sure does love her plank holds and my abs are loving them too….

Photo from Brit.co

Photo from Brit.co

These next two weeks consist of 4 lifting days and 2 cardio days. The lifting schedule is Upper Body/Lower Body/Upper Body/Lower Body as opposed to the last 2 weeks which was 3 days of full body lifting.

Weeks 3 and 4 of Sweaty Bettie’s Progressive Weight Lifting Program

Weeks 3 and 4 – Days 1 and 3 (Upper Body)

Seated Rows: 3 sets of 15 with a 60 second rest*
Front Shoulder Press: 3 sets of 15 with a 60 second rest
DB Bench Press: 3 sets of 10 with a 60 second rest
Bicep Curls with Barbell: 3 sets of 15 with a 60 second rest
Triceps Rope Push Downs: 3 sets of 15 with a 60 second rest
Rear Delt Flys: 3 sets of 15 with a 60 second rest
Bicycle Crunch: 3 sets of 30-50 reps and you are going to superset this with:
Plank Holds: 30 seconds
10-15 minutes of stretching, foam rolling or flexibility work
*all rest periods are between sets

Weeks 3 and 4 – Days 2 and 4 (Lower Body)

Step Ups with DB: 3 sets of 12 with 60 second rest
Walking Side Squats: 3 sets of 15 each way with 60 second rest
Straight Leg Deadlift with BB: 3 sets of 20 with 60 second rest
Hamstring Curl Machine: 3 sets of 15 with 60 second rest
Leg Extension: 4 sets of 12 with 60 second rest
Alternating Lunges: 3 sets of 15 each leg with 60 second rest
Plank Holds: 3 sets of 30-45 seconds with 60 seconds rest
10-15 minutes of stretching, foam rolling or flexibility work

Cardio:
2 days of 20 minute incline walking OR steady state jog or moderate cycling

What I Ate Wednesday

I am such a voyeur when it comes to what people eat.  I love stalking getting new ideas for healthy AND yummy eats.  So, I thought I would join in the big ole What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) party over at Peas and Crayons!

My day started out with my favorite breakfast of all time:

Oats cooked in water and 4 egg whites (for fun, I threw a couple of carob chips in)Oats and EggwhitesI had a snack around 11:00 – Greek yogurt, a squirt of lemon, a dash of stevia and an ounce of almonds

Yogurt and Almonds 001

Lunch was a salad from Whole Paycheck Foods: Lots of greens with curried cauliflower (TOLD you I was obsessed!), chicken and red onions with Trader Joe’s Cilantro Dressing

Whole Foods Salad

Dinner was flank steak on the grill with sweet potatoes and yes, MORE greens (this time with just a little balsamic vinegar).  No picture.  Totally forgot to snap one while I was getting the kid’s dinner together (they had gluten-free mac and cheese with some of the steak).

Before bed, I made my yummy delish casein protein ice cream.  It consists of 1 scoop of protein (I use Dymatize Chocolate Peanut Butter flavor), 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk, a TBSP of unsweetened cocoa powder, a TBS of PB2 and an ever so slight pinch of xanthan gum (turns my “shake” into “soft serve”).  YUM! Next week I will have a picture AND will share with you my FAVORITE website for protein shake recipes….

I had acupuncture today and it went really well.  It is amazing how even though I know I have to rush out of there to get my kids (usually with just a second to spare before daycare charges me a late fee), I still manage to fully relax.  My energy continues to be good and I am still really hopeful that the treatments are helping with my menopause symptoms (no hot flashes! WIN!).

Hope you are all doing really well!!!! 

XOXO,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Adrenal Fatigue, Healthy Eating, Hormones, Metabolic Damage/Rehab, Uncategorized, WIAW and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

