Weeks 1 and 2 – Sweaty Betties 12 Week Program

I woke up this morning with very sore hamstrings! Being sore reminds me that I worked hard and that my body is getting stronger! It has been a month since I felt this sore and it feels great to be back doing what I love.

Sweaty Betties Logo

As I blogged yesterday – I started the Sweaty Betties’ 12 Week Progressive Lifting Program last week. So far, I really like it. It was exactly what I needed to get back into the swing of things after taking a break from the gym. I do find that I am struggling during the rest periods because I am so used to pushing myself to the max circuit style. But, I am remembering that this is progressive and in time, I will be back to doing all the crazy stuff that I am used to. BUT, with that being said, these are NOT easy workouts. I am pushing hard and seeing big calorie burns on my heart rate monitor. That makes me a happy girl.

I am going to go through exactly what I am doing during the program so that if you or someone you know is struggling with Adrenal Fatigue, hormone issues, or just needs a program to get started with weight lifting, you can follow along!

When I signed up to receive the program, I received the following email message from Danny J:

How do I get the most from this program?
If you have never followed any kind of lifting program before or if its been awhile, here are a few tips for your success:
• Schedule your workouts– put them on the calendar so you have an “appointment” to do them
• Do not schedule more than 2 workouts in a row. –Suggestions for the first two weeks: Mon, Wed, Fri or Tues, Thurs, Sat
•Take “before” pictures and progress pictures! Write down your measurements, it’s always great to track progress!
• Listen to your body– if you feel pain or hear “grinding” in joints, STOP.
Weeks 1 & 2– Weeks 1 & 2 are designed to get your body acclimated to lifting and basic movements. They are 3-day FULL BODY routines. The plank holds are designed to help your core and hopefully you will be able to hold longer the second week than the first (write it down!)
•If you want a place to track your measurements & blog about your progress come to sweatybettiesfitness.com where you can do that and find more support!
 

Eager to get started???  Here are the workouts for weeks 1 and 2:

Week 1-­2 Day #1
Air Squats – 3 sets of 30-50 with 60 sec rest
Kneeling DB Shoulder press – 3 sets of 15 with 60 sec rest
Body Row – 3 sets to failure 90 sec rest
Push-­Ups – 3 sets of 15 with 60 sec. rest
Leg-‐Up Crunches – 3 sets of 30-­50 with 60 sec rest
Hip Raises – 3 sets of 15 with 60 sec rest
Plank Hold – 3 sets of 30-­45 sec.  with 60 sec rest
10-­‐15 min. Stretch Foam Roll or Flexibility work
 
Week 1-2 Day#2
Walking lunges -3 sets of 30 with 60 sec. rest
DB Lateral Raises – 3 sets of 15 with 60 sec. rest
Lat Pull Down Wide Grip – 3 sets of 15 with 60 sec. rest
Incline DB Press – 3 sets of 15 with 60 sec. rest
Bicycle Crunches – 3 sets of 30-50 with 60 sec rest.
Kneeling Kick Backs – 3 sets of 20-25 with 60 sec. rest
Plank Hold – 3 sets of 30-45 sec. with 60 sec. rest
10-15 min. stretch with a foam roller or flexibility work
 
Week 1-2 Day #3
Step-Ups – 3 sets of 15 with 60 sec. rest
Upright Row (with Cable) 3 sets of 15 with 60 sec. rest
Assist Pull Ups – 3 sets of 10 with 60 sec. rest
Ball Chest Flys 3 sets of 15 with 60 sec. rest
Knee to Chest Crunches – 3 sets of 30-50 with 60 sec. rest
Straight Leg Deadlifts with BB – 3 sets of 15-20 with 60 sec. rest
Plank Hold – 3 sets of 30-45 sec. with 60 sec, rest
10-15 minute stretch with a foam roller or flexibility work
 
 Cardio Weeks 1-2
Walk for 15 minutes daily
 

So far, I have completed Week 1 and also workout #1 from Week 2.  Last week, my notes showed that I felt really weak on day 1.  That made me wonder if I had lost a lot of strength during my time off.  I am happy to report that as the days have gone by, I am feeling a lot stronger and am able to lift many of the same weights that I was lifting before my gym hiatus. 

My second acupuncture appointment is tonight and I am super excited.  I’ll let you know how that goes.  Oh and I am excited to try to link up tonight with Peas and Crayon’s “What I Ate Wednesday” posts so that I can start blogging about my meals.  Should be fun!

Any questions about the 12 week program?  Let me know in the comments below!  Or – you can contact Danny J on the Sweaty Betties webpage.  She is super amazing! 

XOXO,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Adrenal Fatigue, bikini competition, Bodybuilding, Figure Competition, General Fitness, Hormones, Metabolic Damage/Rehab, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

