Don’t Call it a Comeback!

For those of you who may be new to the blog, allow me to give you a Cliff’s Notes version of the last few years of my life. Back in 2011 I became a bodybuilder. I had seen a friend from high school on Facebook who competes and I had a “spark” ignite in me that led me to ask her to help me train for a show. In 9 weeks I was on stage right next to her, in killer shape. It was amazing. The very next week, I competed again but this time, I was on my old high school stage. 7.17.12 426
The next year, I decided to compete again but this time, in the next bodybuilding division – figure. The look for this division is a bit more muscular and a lot leaner.

This year, when I went to start dieting for my next show in May, it just wasn’t happening. Squeaky clean, 1400 calories, über intense training and I couldn’t lose one pound. Not an inch was shed. During this time, I got a text from my coach, who is also a dear friend of mine. She knew that I was really struggling to lose weight and tighten up for the competition. She said – “you have to read this post”:

http://seashelspeachylife.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/why-i-hung-up-my-competition-heels/

Shelsea Montes was one of the very first IFBB professional bikini competitors. It was great to read her story and it made me feel like I was not alone in my struggles!!! AND as I looked at the information she provided, I came upon the link to Sweaty Betties!!! See here:

http://thesweatybetties.com/metabolism-adrenal-fatigue-update/

When I watched Danny J’s videos, it all came together for me. I knew that I had to take action (or non-action I should say) and stop working out. My body was crying out for a break. I also had to stop restricting my nutrients so much. I had to start sleeping like it was my job.

They say that when the student is ready, the teacher appears. Well, my teachers were showing up all over the place.

So, last week marked a month since I had lifted a weight or stepped on a cardio machine. I was ready to start moseying back into the place I call my second home (the gym). I hoped that the yoga that I had done weekly had retained some of my strength. I just didn’t know where to start. I remembered that Danny J had a progressive program on her blog and immediately knew that it was what I needed to ease back in. Danny J has experienced similar issues and I knew that she would have a good idea about how to go about this. I downloaded her program (you can request to have it sent to you here) and got started. I am on week 2 so far and feel great!

So, what I am going to do is chronicle my journey on Danny J’s program here. I am going to share how I am feeling, show some examples of what I am eating (with recipes!) and how the training is going. I am not going to share weight loss because my goal really is to tighten up – the number on the scale will just freak me out, but I will share inches lost and clothes goals and so forth.

So, check back daily for updates on how things are going. I am so excited to share this program! I am so grateful for women such as Danny J and Shelsea who have put their struggles out there for us to see. It makes me feel human. If I can help just one person who is going through this, then I have succeeded.

Until tomorrow!

XoXo,
Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Don’t Call it a Comeback!

  1. Teri says:

    Thank you for sharing this. The whole “when student is ready teachers appear” saying hit home for me. After years (many, many years) starting with eating disorders in middle school to becoming more of a competitive endurance athlete, I always thought figure might be a fun challenge but I have already trashed my body too much and need to heal. I can’t even imagine what would have happened if I had “tried” figure. I’m so glad I found people like Danny-J and friends to steer me away because someone like me could not have done it in a healthy manner, but I’m not convinced it is really healthy for anyone. Good luck!

    • Pepper says:

      Thanks Teri! I am so grateful for Danny J too and all of those that speak up. Sounds like you have good supportive people in your life. That is awesome. I can definitely agree with you to a large extent about figure being unhealthy. If done improperly, it can be really damaging.

  2. Aww thanks for the reblog and also good luck with Danny’s program:) she is awesome !

Leave a Reply

