Getting “Poked”…. Adventures in Acupuncture

I tried acupuncture! It was great and I am looking forward to continuing it to see where it goes. It was everything I expected it to be, and a little bit more. In looking around for an acupuncture practitioner, I happened upon the website for a fitness center that is literally in walking distance from my job. Bonus! This is what the website said about Kerri:

“Kerri’s approach to treating a patient is truly whole. She incorporates a system known as Nutritional Response Testing to bring the body back into balance. Based on the concept of internal energy, fundamental to traditional Chinese medicine, it is a noninvasive way of evaluating the body’s imbalances, finding the underlying causes of illness or non-optimum health and assessing its needs. It involves testing the body’s responses when applying slight pressure to a large muscle, to provide information on energy blockages, the functioning of the organs, Nutritional Deficiencies and Food Sensitivities, among other things. It can also be used to test the body’s responses to herbs and other remedies to identify the proper nutrients needed to restore health. This method is also used during Allergy Elimination, which allows Kerri to find and desensitize one to items that the body shows a negative response to. Often there is an emotional component to physical disorders that acupuncture works beautifully for but muscle testing is also a great tool to assist the body in moving back into a balanced energetic state.”

I knew from reading this that I needed to check it out. I had done the Western approach and it got me to “Aw Honey, you are fine with hot flashes and a spare tire”. I was ready to try the Eastern approach.

Kerri started out by muscle testing me, which was really cool. I had previously had Nutritional Response Testing previously at another facility, but when Kerri did it, she immediately honed in on my issues. She asked me if I had issues with my thyroid. I told her that I had recently had blood work and it showed my thyroid results in the “normal range”. She said “Your ENERGY is NOT in the normal range”. She proceeded to move down the body systems and told me that she detected issues with my adrenals (exactly as I suspected!!) and my kidneys. She had me lay down and put the acupuncture needles in place. They did not hurt AT ALL! In fact, the one she put in my scalp sent a tingle through my whole body! She put a heat lamp near my feet (this helps with the energy she said) and had me relax for 20 minutes listening to soothing music. When she came back in, she muscle tested me with supplements and figured out the dosages. I went home with 3 little bottles of herbs and a whole lot of hope.

I don’t know if it is a placebo effect, but I do feel pretty darned good. My energy level is a little higher and my mood is a little better. I go back in two weeks, so hopefully I will have some great news to share! Kerri says that I will need around 6 sessions to really see a change. This Sunday will be 3 weeks since I worked out in a gym (besides yoga). I am going to start a very slow program of weight lifting on Sunday. It will be moderate to heavy weights at 3 sets and 8-12 reps with a good amount of rest between sets. I have been reading that this is a great way to ease back in when you have been having cortisol issues. Also, no heavy cardio for me just yet. I will continue yoga (I even added a day!) and will be doing some light walking. I am going to continue to eat a clean eating plan and will be doing a heart rate monitor test to see where my resting calorie burn is so that I have a good baseline. Once I know this number, I can start figuring out how to get to a healthy deficit and maybe try to get some of this weight off. Stay Tuned!

XOXO Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting “Poked”…. Adventures in Acupuncture

  1. losing50laps says:

    Awesome. I have been thinking about acupuncture. I am even more intrigued after your post. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

