Welcome to “Your New Normal”

It happened innocently enough. I went to my closet back in October, feeling like I had been gaining weight and sure enough, my work clothes no longer fit. Not just my “normal” work clothes, but the ones that I had purchased after already feeling like I was gaining a few pounds. Over the course of 6 months, I had packed on 30 pounds. By eating a very clean vegan diet. No sugar, no refined flours except oat flour and about 1500-1700 calories a day. I was training with heavy weights 5-6 times a week and doing 20 minutes of high intensity cardio training 4-5 days a week. The math was infuriating and it was not adding up. In January, I started adding back some eggs and greek yogurt, thinking that my body was not doing well on a vegan diet. I started training for a bikini competition and put myself on a strict 1400 calorie diet. After 6 weeks…. I GAINED a pound. And no, but thanks for chiming in here….It WAS NOT MUSCLE.

Other things started to become weird – I would shower and there would be clumps of hair coming out as I washed. I have always had a ton of hair and was always grateful for some shedding, but this was different. It made me nervous how much was coming out.

My skin was dry, I was depressed, I had no (um, how do I put this) mojo….. My lady schedule was off…. WAY off… And then the kicker was when I started having to strip down in the middle of the night because my body felt like it was on fire.

I am 37!!! Not 57!

So, like most people would do, I went to my general practitioner. She took some blood and ran some tests. Normal. All of them. BUT, she said, “If I were you, I would see an endocrinologist”.

So, I left feeling empowered and the next day, I called the recommended endocrine doctor. This was in February. “Our first appointment is May 15”, the receptionist said. And that is when I started to cry. I broke down and said “Okay, I’ll take it.” but a part of me was not ready to wait that long. I wanted ANSWERS and I wanted them NOW. So I googled and called every endocrinologist until I got an appointment in weeks instead of months.

Endocrinologist Appointment:

I went in and they took my weight and blood pressure. Sitting with the endocrinologist is refreshing in that you actually sit across from him at his desk. No paper gown, no weird “where do I put my magazine?” when they finally come in to examine you.
We talked for an hour. He asked me questions about my dieting history and what kind of exercise I do. We talked about my “lady schedule” and if I was normal. We talked about family history of diabetes and heart disease.
Finally, he completed a lab form for me to have every hormone under the sun tested.

Once again, I left feeling empowered. I had to wait two weeks to wash off of all the supplements I was on, but I felt like I would have some answers soon!

A month later, I received the results that the 8 vials of blood had shown.

Female hormones. Way off. In the menopausal range.

So, I was referred back to my Ob/Gyn. And this is where my story begins.

Stay tuned for part two 🙂

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

