Detox!

imagesCAYG5X0VWhen I was on maternity leave with my son (he is 3 now) I would watch the show “You are What You Eat” on the BBC America station religiously. 

The show features Gillian Mckeith,  a nutrition and health writer and a tv presenter.  She goes over what these people eat (some of it is just gross!) and then analyzes their health.  Then, she puts them on a pescetarian diet and encourages them to change their lives in every aspect.  Each episode was so motivating!  I mean, these people went from eating enormous quantities of cookies and chips and soda to eating a very healthy vegetarian diet and learning not just how to exercise, but to love and nurture themselves!  By the end of each program, I was usually cheering for each participant(quietly – I didn’t want to wake up the baby!). 

Every day, I would put my son in his stroller and we would walk the mile and a half to the local Wegman’s and get coffee (I had 40 pounds to lose!). imagesCAS87KB1One day, I decided to stop in to the bookstore and see if they had Gillian’s book (also titled “You Are What You Eat”.)  I read the book and tried a lot of her ideas, but at the time, I was still eating meat, fish and dairy and was not quite ready to put the book fully to use.  I shelved it for a while and forgot I had it. 

Last week, I noticed that I have a crack down the middle of my tongue.  Random, I know, but I remembered that Gillian’s book talks about how you can tell what is going on in your body by the health of your tongue. So, I pulled the book out and did a little research.  According to Gillian, a crack down the middle of your tongue can mean that digestion is not as great as it could be and that you are most likely nutrient depleted. 

So I thought to myself….  “Hm…. I HAVE been relying heavily on protein powders and have not been eating nearly enough veggies lately”.  So, I read on.  She recommends taking a digestive enzyme, learning how to food combine (this is explained in the book) and to eat soups, stews and blends – foods that are easy to digest (she recommends millet porridge – doesn’t that sound disgusting YUMMY?). 

I noticed as I read through the book that she has a one day detox program.  Gillian states that our body has natural functions that remove the toxins like when urinating, sweating, or defecating.  In modern society though, with all the chemicals that exist – radiation, pollution etc., our bodies get overloaded with toxins and a detox program really helps.  

When I told my hubby that I was going to try it on Sunday, he said he would do it with me!  FUN!  Here are the details of what we did yesterday:

The Detox Program

You don’t have to follow the exact times – just try to adjust accordingly for your schedule.
7:00 – First thing when you wake up you should drink warm water with fresh lemon juice. I just put a cup of water in the microwave and squirted some lemon juice in – bottoms up!
 
7:30 – One tablespoon of flaxseed oil or flax seeds that you will have soaked in boiling water from the night before. In the morning you strain it and drink the water. I did not do this step.  I felt like a dummy because in the book it says “linseeds” and I searched for them and could not find them.  Apparently, they are the same as flax seeds.  Duh.
 
8:00 – For breakfast you choose one of these:

  • Fruit. As much as you like. Try to avoid oranges since they are too acidic. If you choose grapes, don’t mix them with any other fruit.
  • Miso soup
  • Vegetable juice made with 1 cucumber, ¼ ginger root, 4 celery stalks, 100 gr alfalfa sprouts,  3 stalks of parsley and 1 carrot.

I ate an apple and a pear.

9:30 – One or two cups of herbal tea (Nettle, Dandelion, Chamomile, Sage, or Echinacea) 

I drank a LOT of tea.  Mostly because I was hungry.

10:00 – Fruit juice. Any fruit combination you like. Gillian says that if it’s cold or you are dealing with circulation problems or have a weak spleen, it is better to replace the juice with a warm  (6 apples and 2 pears peeled, cut in smaller pieces, cooked slightly and then blended in the food processor).

We made a juice of 2 pears, 2 apples, strawberries and grapes. 

12:30 – Lunch. You can choose one of the choices listed below:

  • Raw sauerkraut
  • Raw mixed salad with sprouts
  • Raw soup with cucumber and mint (recipe given below)
 
Raw cucumber soup with mint 
Juice of 3 cucumbers and 2 celery stalks
1 chopped cucumber
¼ cup chopped mint
¼ cup chopped parsley
¼ cup chopped leek
Put all your ingredients in a blender or food processor, until smooth.
 

We did a raw mixed salad (cucumber, red pepper and romaine lettuce.)

2:00 – Herbal tea

2:30 – Gillian’s detox smoothie. Choose one combination from the list that follows:

  • 6 carrots, 2 celery stalks, 1 apple (this is the one we did)
  • ½ beetroot, 2 carrots, 1 celery stalk, ½ cucumber
  • 2 cucumbers, ½ beetroot, 1 stalk of dill
  • 2 cucumbers, 4 celery stalks, ¼ ginger root, 1 stalk of coriander or basil
  • 1 hand-full of parsley, 1 kale, 5 carrots and a small piece of ginger
  • 2 celery stalks, 1 hand-full of parsley, 1 garlic clove, 5 carrots and 100gr alfalfa sprouts (optional)

3:00 – Herbal tea

3:30 – Sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, or raw sauerkraut 

We chose the sunflower seeds 

4:00 – Gillian’s vegetable juice (with 6 whole carrots, 1 ripe avocado, 10 basil leafs, 1 apple, juice from half a lemon)

 5:30 – Dinner! A large raw salad with a hand-full of sprouts. You can add a small portion of cereal grains if you feel hungry. 

We were starving, but at this point, we did not add the cereal grains as she mentions.

6:30 – Potassium Rich Broth  (We did not do the broth – we drank some coconut water instead)

At this point, my hubby was DONE.  He waved his white flag and I made him rice and vegetable curry.  He looked at it like it was ambrosia when I handed him the plate. 

7:30 – 1 cup of warm water with lemon juice 

8:15 – Dry body-brushing. Begin from the feet and start going up. You try to make big, soft movements with the brush, always towards the heart.
 
8:30 – Bath time! Add minerals to your bath.

After the bath, Gillian says that if you find yourself hungry, you can snack on some lettuce or celery. Try to go to sleep early! I went to bed at 10:00 (I HAD to watch The Walking Dead!!!! – OMG how good was it, right?????) And, I must admit that I had a pear with some almond butter on top….. 

So, we (kinda) made it through.  I don’t know if when we will do it again. It was really hard trying to stay active with our 3 year old while we were detoxing because neither of us had any energy. Today I woke up feeling very light, but I also woke up with a HUGE headache from caffeine withdrawal (oh, and with a HUGE amount of respect for raw vegans). 

Oh and in case you were wondering, I STILL have the crack down the middle of my tongue.  🙂 I’ll let you know if and when that heals.

Your friend in health,

Pepper Xoxo

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Healthy Eating, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Detox!

  1. Janene says:

    Wow, what a day you had! I would love to try a detox but I don’t think my partner in crime would be up for it.

    • Janene- it was harder than I thought it would be! But, I felt really clean and light the next day (even though I cheated with the almond butter :-)) If you ever wanted to try it, I would recommend sending the kids to grandma’s that day! LOL

Leave a Reply

