Fun, Food and Fitness!

I have a VERY important public service announcement. 

boy-meets-world_72282_1Cory and Topenga are getting back together for a new show called “Girl Meets World”!!! Supposedly, it will be about the couple’s teenage daughter!  How awesome is that???!!  Check out the deets here!

 On a different note, remember a few months ago when I went to the raw food restaurant (Arnold’s Way in Lansdale, PA)? Well, I went back today to get some take out for lunch.  Nov30 011

I ordered the nachos. 

At first glance, this package looks like just a bunch of well- chopped salad veggies, right?  Uh, NO.  This is the most deceptive part of Arnold’s food.  It is a flavor explosion! 

Nov30 017The crunch of the nacho “chips” (which are dehydrated veggies BTW), the spices in the “cheese” (which I think is made of soaked cashews) and all the freshly cut veggies all come together to make the most delicious food experience.  It is such a pleasant surprise when healthy meets delicious, isn’t it? 

Raw ChipsI love the raw chips so much, I bought a pack of them.  They are so good crumbled on salad!

 

 

 

For dessert, I selected a piece of  pie (normally, I Carrot Piewould not get dessert…. it was merely for, ahem,  food blogging purposes….).  It was a combination of carrots, nuts , agave nectar and warm fall spices.  It was absolutely delicious.  It was really rich though, so I took a few bites and saved the rest.  And then I went back to it a few minutes later.  And finished it 🙂 The fall spices get me EVERY TIME!  I am such a sucker for cinnamon… 

In addition to being a cafe, Arnold’s is also a store.  They have shelves full of products like hemp protein, sea veggies, vitamins, books, dehydrators, etc. 

Arnold's Way

Shelves full of yumminess

Nov30 005

Hemp and Chia and Flax…. Oh My!

Nov30 007

Pretty art on the walls

What I love most about Arnold’s Way is the sense of community you get when you walk in the door.  It doesn’t matter if you are vegan, vegetarian, carnivorous, an alien from another planet, etc.  The people who work there are so caring and so knowledgable about health and food.  It is really cool to have a place like that in the area. 

On the fitness front, I wanted to let you guys know what I have been up to at the gym.  I started a program by James Wilson this past week.  James is a personal trainer whose program is based on circuit training for the first few weeks (and cardio) and then moves into body part training for the remainder of the program.  This is very similar to what I do when I train for competitions.  I love structure in my workouts, so programs like these really appeal to me.  Along with the 12 week workout plan, he offers very sage nutrition advice (no crash diets!) and also has a support group on his facebook page that you are invited to once you sign up.  The cost of the program is $50 and it is well worth it.  You can check out James’s facebook page here and also email him on the page to sign up and get the program. 

So, although I can’t share the workouts and nutrition plan with you because it is proprietary (that is why you need to sign up and do it WITH me!), I CAN share with you how things are going with the program and give some info on the types of food I am eating as we go along.  So far, I am a week in and I feel terrific.  I love the feeling of balance when I am doing a workout program that is sustainable and eating foods that nourish me instead of making me feel crummy or guilty.  Love that! 

Anyway, thanks for stopping by.  Hope you are all doing well.  Until next time, drink your water and take your multi-vitamins…. OH WAIT!  I forgot to take mine…. going to do that now…

xoxoxo,

Pepper 

 
 
About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Family Fun, General Fitness, Healthy Eating, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

