So Great! (full!)

Hope you all had a WONDERFUL Thanksgiving!

We had a vegan feast!  Special thanks to Angela at Oh She Glows for all of her inspiration. 

The day started out with these little babies for breakfast:

I totally altered the recipe!  Take note, Trader Joe’s.  Changes are happening! 

The night before Thanksgiving, I prepared carrot soup that is just awesome.  Here is the link to the recipe.  It was divine!  I just kept it in the fridge overnight and then reheated it on the stove while the rest of the meal was in the oven!  Worked out great.  I served it with some crescent rolls.  Yeah, that’s right, they’re vegan. 

I did prepare a lot of the food in advance so that all I had to do was put it in the oven on Thursday.  I made:

This Ain’t Grandma’s Sweet Potato Casserole (OMG – even if it is not Thanksgiving, you need to make this!).

Lentil Walnut Apple Loaf (this would have been phenomenal, had I not forgotten the flour! My sister kept calling it the “Lentil Pudding”)

Acorn Squash with brown sugar and butter (this was an adaptation from Pioneer Woman – I just used Earth Balance instead of dairy butter).  Here is a picture before they went in the oven:

The next morning, I watched the parade with the kids, drank loads of coffee and relaxed.  It was nice to have so much prepared the night before.  I had also set the table and gotten the serving dishes all ready to go.  I should have taken more pictures!  Late morning, I peeled and sliced the potatoes and put them in water on the stove.  Once the guests arrived, I cooked them and whipped them up with some Earth Balance and some vegan “sour supreme” – a great vegan sour cream!  Salt and pepper and they were ready to roll! I also made the stuffing (super easy – just sautéed some mushrooms and then threw in some veggie broth and the stuffing cubes!).

Once people started arriving, we opened the wine and I served what will now be my “signature appetizer”.  It is so good, it deserves its own post.  It is a puffed pastry pizza with baby portabello mushrooms and a garlic aoli.  OMG.  I die. 

I steamed the carrots and the green beans and then we were ready to go!  The soup was served with the rolls (did I mention it was delicious!).  And then we served all of the main dishes. 

Dessert was EPIC.  My sister brought carrot cake and a chocolate peanut butter bomb cake from Vegan Treats Bakery.  I am still dreaming about them!  Feel like drooling?  Check out their latest menu.

Everyone had a blast and enjoyed the food.  I was so grateful that everyone could be there with us and celebrate.  Hope you all had a wonderful day too, filled with fun, food, festivities and family!!!

Oh, and guess who decided to make a reappearance on Friday morning!  Meet “Elfie”! I have a feeling you are going to be seeing him a lot around here!

Xoxo,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Family Fun, Healthy Eating, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So Great! (full!)

  1. That all sounds delicious – though I must admit Elfie is a little creepy. I may have a slight doll phobia! 🙂

Leave a Reply

