Gluten Free and Vegan. Perfect Together….

Last week, I wore the “Vegan Treats” tee shirt that my sister and brother-in-law’s friend gave me at a party.  Isn’t it cool?   Vegan Treats is a bakery in Bethlehem, PA.  They make unbelievable cakes and donuts and other unbelievably decadent desserts.  Although I felt kinda weird wearing a bakery’s tee shirt on the treadmill, it was awesome to represent for my vegan-ness.  Plus, my sister is getting a vegan carrot cake from Vegan Treats for Thanksgiving, so I worked a little harder on the treadmill knowing that the cake was in my near future.

Speaking of carrot cake….  A few weeks ago I signed up to make a vegetarian entree and a gluten free dessert for my daughter’s school.  They are having a teacher appreciation dinner in the midst of parent/teacher conferences.  So yesterday, I made my vegan lasagna (I made it gluten free also).  This time, I topped it with Daiya mozzarella cheese.  It looks awesome and I hope that the feedback is good. 

I also made these little gems.

They are gluten-free and vegan carrot cake cupcakes with cream cheese frosting (I topped them with a little gluten free and vegan spice cookie – I watch Cupcake Wars!).  Here is the recipe:

Gluten Free Vegan Carrot Cake Cupcakes

  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 flax eggs (see explanation below)
  • 2 cups of gluten free flour (I used Bob’s red mill)
  • 2 tsp guar gum
  • 2 cups of shredded carrots
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon depending on your taste
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350F

Make the flax eggs.  There are a few baby items that I am glad I did not get rid of when my kids got older.  One of them is this baby food processor.  It is great for chopping onions, garlic, mixing tofu pudding, and for making flax eggs.  Flax is a great egg replacer in baked goods that are inherently “nutty”, like banana bread, some pancake and cookie types and are perfect for these carrot cake cupcakes. For each “egg” you will need 1 TBS of ground flax and 3 TBSP of water. Since we need 2 “eggs” for this recipe, you will put 2 TBSP of flax and 6 TBSP of water in your blender or food processor. 

 

After a minute or so, the mixure will get foamy and a little gluey.  This is perfect!  In a bowl, combine all of the wet ingredients in the list, including the flax eggs and the sugars and mix with either a stand mixer or a hand mixer (or, if you are working arms that day, use a whisk!).  Once all of the wet ingredients and the sugars are well combined, in a separate bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients.  Once the dry ingredients are combined, you can begin to mix the wet with the dry, adding the carrots at the end. 

At this point, you will inevitably try tasting the mixture (I know I DID!).  Fear not.  It will taste gross.  Have no fear and soldier on, dear friend. 

Place the mixure in lined cupcake tins (this will make 24 cupcakes).  Bake for 25 minutes (test for doneness).

Let these little babies cool for a while and make your frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 tub of vegan cream cheese (I used Tofutti)
  • 3 TBSP Smart or Earth Balance Butter
  • 2 cups powdered sugar

Combine the cream cheese and the “butter” with a hand blender until creamed.  Slowly add in the powdered sugar until whipped.  Chill for about an hour to “set”. 

Once the cupcakes are cooled, you can either frost with a knife, or you can place your frosting in a piping bag like I did.  These cupcakes are so good that my husband could not stop talking about them!  It just goes to show that vegan and gluten free can be delicious!

Please try them and let me know what you think!

Your friend,

Pepper xoxo

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Family Fun, Healthy Eating, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten Free and Vegan. Perfect Together….

  1. Pingback: Vegan Pumpkin Protein Bars | Life….With a Dash of Pepper

Leave a Reply

