VegFest

Happy Monday blogging peeps… 

I had such a great time this weekend, and I have been so excited to share the deets with you.  On Saturday, my veg sister and I went to VegFest in Bethlehem, PA.  It was fun just to get out of the house on a beautiful day (although the storm clouds were looming behind us!).  There were tons of really awesome vendors, many of which I really want to share with you here.  We met so many inspiring, passionate people! 

We started out walking down the long row of vendors, sampling goodies such as Linda Louise’s “Pulse Desserts”, which are raw, organic, vegan “cheezecakes” as she calls them.    You see, Linda lived by the standard American diet of McDonalds and Hamburger Helper until her husband was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis.  Linda and her husband (Terry) decided to look into the power of eating raw food as “medicine”.  What ensued was the creation of these little deserts that are raw, full of enzymes and nutrients and are just downright tasty!  You can check out their website here.  I was so inspired by how good these little treats tasted that I am going to ask my local health food stores to check them out and see if they can supply them locally!  Try the pumpkin pie flavor…. OMG!

We kept walking, stopped to say hi to the pigs from the sanctuary, and look at other animal rescue site’s materials.  Everyone was so friendly! 

We stopped by Kristen Bentson’s table – Kristen is the owner of “You Anew” Lifestyle Nutrition.  I could have a separate post just about HER – I was so inspired by what she does and who she is and how passionate she is for what she does.  Her business took on the challenge of “veganizing” a man for 30 days.  We didn’t get to see her presentation regarding the results, but she did share with us that the gentleman who undertook the challenge was a manly carnivore prior to going into the challenge and is LOVING life as a vegan. I love that!   There is something magical that happens….  I can attest! 

As we kept strolling along, I heard someone calling my name…  I turned to find a gal that I had worked with almost 15 years earlier.  She looked almost exactly the same (mental note, ask Steph what she washes her face with!) and is still a peaceful, kind soul.  It was great to see her and it was also great to hear that she is doing extremely well and is living her true passion as a yoga instructor.  Check her page out here. 

We stopped at the pizza stand and had a vegan slice, which was pure heaven.  Daiya cheese on pizza parlor pizza…. just as delicious as I remember pizza to be (I haven’t had a slice of pizza from a pizza parlor in almost a year….  See “figure competition” in the categories… 🙂 )

Then, we stopped at the most unbelievable stand of all.  VEGAN TREATS.  I have been drooling over their website for a month now and we were so lucky to have encountered them at VegFest.  I had a piece of peanut butter chocolate cake and my sister had a piece of the carrot cake.  Both unbelievable.  We discussed and decided that for Thanksgiving this year, we are going to buy our cakes from Vegan Treats and not tell a soul at the table that they are vegan cakes until the last crumb is eaten.  We will have them thinking that we are vegan rock stars.  Psst…. If you are a family member reading this, please don’t give away our secret!

Next in our encounters was a little tee-shirt vendor.  Andy from CompassionCo.com told us his story about how he is part of a band and is responsible for supplying the band tee shirts.  In his search for great shirts, he did some research and found a supplier that does not use sweatshops to manufacture and Andy has added some pretty cool messages to them.   This is the one that I bought.  Isn’t it cute?

The festivities ended for us with stopping by the speakers tent to see Jaime from Save the Kales give her talk.  I highly encourage you to check out her blog.  Whether you are vegan or not, this gal has so much knowledge to offer.  During her talk, she made so many amazing points.  I wish I had taken notes!!  My take home message from Jaime is that if you really want to do something that you are passionate about, you don’t have to wait until you have 6 expensive degrees on your wall… we live in an age where if you want to create something for yourself, just do it.  She had us make a little video at the end of her talk and when I went to upload it to share with you, I realized that the sound was terrible and you couldn’t hear it. I was so bummed!!!!   Go to her site – you will be so happy you did.    UPDATE!!!!  I found a copy of her video on Youtube…. here it is!   VegFest

So, all in all, my sister and I had a great time.  It was so nice to spend the day with her and walk around checking out cool stuff.  It is a day I will treasure forever.  Please check out the great stuff that I talked about above and let me know if you have tried or if you try any of it out.  I would love to hear from you.

Hope you are all having a wonderful Monday!  I am still undergoing my vegan metamorphosis over at www.misostrong.wordpress.com.  I would love for you to stop over.  On the home front, I will be undergoing a different challenge.  I am going to blog about that shortly! 

Until then, eat some fiber, drink some water, and love each other….

Pepper xoxoxo

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to VegFest

  1. Pingback: Days 5 and 6 « Miso Strong

Leave a Reply

