My Instructions During Construction

As I stated in my last post, I am tired of feeling puffy and bloated.   I would like to fit into my clothes better by the end of September.  That is my goal – by September 30th, I would like to have lost 2 inches off my waist and my hips.  This is how it will get done:

Vegan Body Plan:

I am going to take all I know and love about bodybuilding and put it together with a vegan twist.  This is going to be interesting and exciting for me.  You will notice that my diet will become pretty reliant on plant based protein powder.  This is in an effort to get more protein in as I try to figure out how to incorporate more whole foods containing protein.  I don’t want to go soy crazy…. I think it may be assisting in the puffiness I am currently experiencing….

Here is the meal plan:

On days where I do weight training, I will eat the following:

Meal 1:  1/2 cup cooked quinoa with 1 scoop PlantFusion protein powder mixed in

Meal 2: 1/2 cup cooked quinoa with 1/2 scoop PlantFusion protein powder mixed in (this will be my post workout snack)

Meal 3: 2 Tbsp natural peanut butter on 2 slices of sprouted oatmeal bread (from Whole Foods)

Meal 4: 1/2 container of silken tofu with 1/2 scoop of protein powder mixed in

Meal 5: Vegetarian chili (homemade) with 2 boca burgers, small salad and 4 oz of sweet potato

Meal 6: 1 scoop plant protein mixed in blender with almond milk

Total Macros:  1372 cals, 143g carbs, 35g Fat, 133g Pro

Non-weight training days:

Meal 1:  1/2 cup cooked quinoa with 1 scoop PlantFusion protein powder mixed in with 2 Tbsp hemp seeds on top

Meal 2: 1/2 cup cooked quinoa with 1/2 scoop PlantFusion protein powder mixed in (this will be my post workout snack)

Meal 3: 2 Tbsp natural peanut butter on 2 slices of sprouted oatmeal bread (from Whole Foods).  Veggies to munch on – peppers, cucumbers, etc.

Meal 4: 1/2 container of silken tofu with 1/2 scoop of protein powder mixed in

Meal 5: Vegetarian chili (homemade) with 2 boca burgers, small salad

Meal 6: 1 scoop plant protein mixed in blender with almond milk

Macros: 1362 Cals, 122g Carbs, 41g Fat, 134g Protein

Weight Training:

I will be doing a traditional 4 day split.  Training will be as follows using basic bodybuilding moves:

Back and Hamstrings

Shoulders and Triceps

Chest and Biceps

Legs (focus on glutes and quads)

Cardio: 

I will do 2 days of HIIT training, protocol being 1 minute on and 1 minute off for a total of 20 minutes (I will do a 5 minute walking warm up before I do the actual 20 minutes of HIIT).  So, for example, on the treadmill, I will walk at 3.8 for a five minutes and then I will do a minute at 3.8 and sprint at 7.5-8.0 for 1 minute.  Two other days, I will do a longer, steady state cardio.  For example,  I may do any of the following: walk at a steep incline, jog at a moderate pace, spin on the bike, elliptical, etc.  I will do a minimum of 45 minutes, but no longer than 60 minutes. 

To  maximize my workout time, I will do the following schedule.  As many of you know, I do the majority of my workouts at the work gym on my lunch hour.  This really only gives me a little less than an hour to get a workout in before I have to get back to my desk.  I can do a longer workout on the weekends in the morning.  So, in order to get the most bang from my workout time:

Sunday: Weight train and cardio

Monday: Weight train or off

Tuesday: Cardio only

Wed: Weight train and HIIT

Thurs: Off or HIIT

Friday: Weight train

Saturday: Weight training and Cardio

This will give my body adequate rest (that is when your muscles grow!) and still give me enough of a challenge (and will also allow me to get out of the office one or 2 days a week to get a manicure or go shopping – this is something that I need to start incorporating as well!!!)   I will give this program 2 weeks and see what progress is happening.  If I am not losing fat, I may add some cardio and drop some calories.  We’ll see.

Here I am right now….   not the best picture, but it shows you a little bit of a starting point.

I am ready to get my construction hat on and get to WORK!

Coming with me?  Any questions?

Let’s do this!

Pepper xoxox

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Bodybuilding, General Fitness, Healthy Eating, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

