Blissfully….routine?

I love routine.  Without it, I feel…  lost.   In my mid twenties, I had a job that required me to travel around the country.  Sometimes I would be traveling so much that I would wake up in the middle of the night not knowing what city I was in and would quickly open the hotel nightstand drawer to check the phonebook to see. And before you get all “Wow Pepper, that sounds so glamorous!”, I have to tell you that it was more Columbia Missouri than Miami Florida.  It did have its perks though, like being upgraded to first class a lot :-), but it really wasn’t for me.  You see, I need to be able to count on being home on Wednesday to take the garbage out…. Or know that I will be home on Thursday to be able to go to my favorite yoga class…. 

And now, especially having kids, I just couldn’t fathom being on the road that often.  I love my routine…  I get up every weekday morning, grab a cup of coffee and drink it while getting the kids ready for school, I hop in the shower and get ready for work.  I take the kids in to school (my hubby pick them up most times) and then head to the office.  I work until around noon, hit the office gym and am back to my desk to resume work while I eat my lunch.  I go home, make dinner for the family and while I am doing that, I prepare the kids (and my) lunch and set the coffee maker for the next day.  We all eat together as a family and then while I clean up, the hubs gives the kids tubbies.  We watch a show together and then one of us puts the kids to bed.  If I am not preparing for a competition, I will chill out and watch some TV and then hit the hay.  If I am in prep mode, I usually head to the treadmill in the basement and do some cardio before calling it a night.   This is my routine and although sometimes I long to get back on a plane and get away, most times, I wouldn’t trade it for the world. 

Xoxo,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

