Vegan “Finds” and a Recipe!

I feel so good.  Emotionally and physically.  I am so excited to be learning about new food and a new way of living.  Being vegan has really opened my eyes (and cleared my head!).  There are a few things that have been really helpful lately in transitioning to a plant based diet.  I wanted to share them with you here in case you are interested (or just curious :-)!)

Favorite Websites:

www.savethekales.wordpress.com

www.compassionatecook.com

www.blog.fatfreevegan.com

www.veganyackattack.com

Podcasts:

I have been listening to podcasts on the website: http://veganfeed.com/ in the car during my commute to and from the office.  My favorite is called “Vegetarian Food for Thought” by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau.  Colleen is a vegan educator who is extremely well spoken and is just so knowledgable on all things vegan – cooking, restaraunts, options for traveling, animal rights, etc., etc. etc.  She is motivating and inspiring and is just downright smart and cool.  I highly encourage anyone – not just vegans to listen to what she has to say.  She is also the author of the blog that I mentioned above – www.compassionatecook.com . I am currently participating in her 30 day vegan challenge and am learning a ton!

Food:

Right now, my favorites are any kind of fruit (loving peaches and blueberries especially!!!), kale (I have been blending it into my protein shakes at night to make a green smoothie!), Amy’s soups (so good!) and Quorn Vegan Burgers.  I eat a lot of salad and am still eating my oatmeal for breakfast everyday with my plant protein powder mixed in (and I have also been putting some ground flax in for Omega’s). 

Recipe:

Fitness Cheerleader is asking about our favorite recipe today.  I am going to cheat a little and give you a link to the most delish protein/energy bars on the planet (oh and be sure to peruse Stacy’s website too – she is so adorable, right?)  They are called Godwin bars and they are freaking delish.  They are not vegan, but can easily be made vegan by subbing whey  protein powder for a plant based powder. I make them all the time for my hubby.  They are really calorie dense though, so I wouldn’t eat them all the time… maybe as a special treat or for endurance workouts. 

So, I hope you try them out!  Let me know what you think. 

In good health,

Pepper xoxo

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vegan “Finds” and a Recipe!

  1. Just curious – Why did you decide to become vegan?

    Here is my post (and not particularly clean, but it is tasty!): http://sheslosingit.net/2012/08/21/jjs-decadent-dessert/

    Lisa

    • Thanks for asking Lisa! I stopped eating all animal products after watching a documentary my sister recommended – “Vegucated”. You can watch it on amazon. It just made sense to me to after watching the parts about factory farming and the cruelty. I have been looking into vegan bodybuilding – you should check out the site http://www.veganbodybuilding.com !

  2. wcatalano says:

    what plant based protein do you use?? i’ve recently fallen in love with brown rice protein powder!

Leave a Reply

