Raw Food Restaurant and Top 5 Workout Songs

Happy August everyone!!!! 

So, I convinced my coworkers to get raw with me today.  Really raw.  Well, food that is… I have been wanting to go back to this little raw vegan restaurant that I had been to years ago and what better time than now – AS A VEGAN!!!!   We feasted on raw nachos and pizza and for dessert, we had banana whips, which are just frozen bananas whipped into an amazing soft serve.  We all had raw cacao nibs on top and let me tell you – it was amazing.  The restaurant is called Arnold’s Way and if you are ever in the Lansdale, PA area and are in the mood for a culinary adventure, you must go there.  I am so sad that I didn’t take pictures of the food (I am still so new at all this food blogging).  I have a feeling though that going to Arnold’s will be a regular occurence, so next time, I promise to properly document the adventure 🙂

I am also really excited about the first of my posts for the August challenge from Janice at Fitness Cheerleader.  I am also super psyched to read other blogger’s posts too!!!  The topic is “5 favorite workout songs and why”.    I LOVE music when I work out.  As a matter of fact, I have been known to leave the gym upon finding out that I forgot my earbuds.  Which reminds me of a funny picture I saw the other day.

I must say, it was really hard for me to select just 5.  So, I kinda cheated on the end (read on to see what I mean). So, without further adieu, here are my top 5 workout “songs” (click on the song titles to hear the songs on YouTube). 

1. “Fire” from Camp Rock 2 – Matthew ‘Mdot’ Finley

This one might make you laugh.  I was watching the movie “Camp Rock 2” with my 5 year old a few months ago when I was in the process of training and dieting for my figure competition.  I listened to the lyrics of the song and thought – wow- this sounds like it could be my theme song!  Here are the words that really struck me:

Nobody’s gonna wanna get next to me
‘Cause they know
(They know)
I take what’s mine
I won’t let it go
Doesn’t matter how you approach the scene
Just go
(Just go)
You’re everything and more when you hit the door

I dare you to challenge me
You’ll be begging for mercy, please
Just watch; I’ll give you something to follow
‘Cause I’ve been waiting so patiently
To let that fire come out of me
I’m what you’re up against
Just letting you know

I keep giving you the fire
I’m gonna heat it up
Under my control
Here’s the night that you’ve been waiting on
Fire, I’m gonna light it up
Gotta make it hot
This stage is mine
Let’s set it off

The king is gonna know
What can take this crown
It’s so great
(So great)
They can’t cool me off when I hit the stage
Burnin’ hot, the spotlight has spelled my name
I feel famous
(Famous)
The crowd cheers me on
They can’t get enough

2. “Written in the Stars” by Tinie Tempah

The first time I heard this song was when I watched this video of Jen Comas Keck (click the song title above).  This girl rocks my world with her work ethic, sheer determination and strength.  I immediately downloaded the song to iTunes and play it often when I need to channel Jen 🙂  She has a pretty amazing blog that is truly inspiring.  You can check it out here

3. “Diesel Power” by Prodigy

Pretty much any Prodigy song gets me pumped to do cardio, but for strength training, I LOVE “Diesel Power”.  There is just something about the beat that is so sexy to me and I feel so bad a$$ when I lift to this song. 

4. “Boom” or “Alive” by P.O.D.

I had a hard time choosing between the two, so I just listed both.  These songs get me so pumped.  I also really like the lyrics to “Alive”.  Even when I am not feeling like working out, I put on one of these songs as my warm up and I am ready to rock by the time they are over….

5.  DJ Scene and DJ Beatbreaker Podcasts

Okay, okay, I know – it is not a song, but I had to share this with you.  I first heard about DJ Beatbreaker at a girl’s night out from my fitness friends.  The next day, I downloaded a few Beatbreaker podcast mixes from iTunes and from that day on, my cardio changed significantly.  DJ Scene ended up being a cool serendipitous download because of Beatbreaker.  When I listen to these mixes, I feel like I am at a really cool club (what?  I am from Jerzey!) and sometimes, I end up getting so excited that I start to “dance” on the treadmill and have to be careful not to sing out loud at the gym…. (that would NOT be pretty).

So, there they are – my top 5 (for now 🙂 )  I hope that you check them out and that maybe, you will use them and be inspired by them too!!!  Oh, and now that you know my secret about the earbuds, you should also know that I keep spare sets in various locations – my gym bag always has an extra set and I keep a set in my glove box in my car.  Yes, I am THAT serious about music when I work out. 

Until next time,

Pepper xoxo

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Figure Competition, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raw Food Restaurant and Top 5 Workout Songs

  1. Jen says:

    Yum, vegan raw food 🙂 I don’t know that I could convince many people to come with me to eat it. Love Alive by P.O.D.

  2. Pingback: Day 9 and Feelin’ Fine! « Miso Strong

  3. Pingback: Fun, Food and Fitness! | Life….With a Dash of Pepper

Leave a Reply

