Running on Veggies with a Cool App

I am settling into vegan life and to be honest, it has not been too difficult.  Now, I am not saying that it would be easy for everyone, but as I mentioned in my previous post, I was almost there already and just had to “give up” a few food items to become vegan.  I must say, I don’t know if it is a placebo effect, but I have never felt better.  My bumpy arm skin is now smooth, the skin on my face is improving, my head is clear and razor sharp focused and here is the best part – on Saturday, I was able to run farther and faster than I ever have before!  Coincidence?  Maybe, but I will certainly take it!  It also may have to do with the neat running app I used. 

BeatBurn is like having a trainer talk you through your workout.  The music they select is techno style and matches your pace perfectly while the “trainer” takes you through the workout, counting down the time and giving support and motivation.  I highly recommend it – totally worth $3.99!  I was completely drenched when I finished my 5 miles and could have gone longer, but had to get to the grocery store! 

I can’t wait to tell you all about the vegan lasagna I made on Friday!  The recipe was inspired by  “Appetite for Reduction” , a really great vegan cookbook by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.  

Here is what the finished product looked like!

It was super easy to make and was absolutely delicious.  Here is what you
need:
2 cans of plain tomato sauce (I added oregano, basil and garlic to mine)
1 package of brown rice lasagna noodles (regular would be fine too)
1 package of extra firm tofu
Veggies of your choice – I used yellow squash, eggplant and carrots and onions
Spinach (frozen or fresh – I used fresh)
Nutritional yeast (optional)
 
Cook the noodles according to package direction.  While the noodles are cooking, you can get to work on your “ricotta” filling.  You will want to drain and pat your tofu dry. 
 
 
Place a bit of garlic and your spinach into a saute pan. 
 
 
Once it is cooked, place it in the food processor with your tofu and give it a whirl. 
 
 
 
 After this, you will want to saute your other veggies.  Place them in a pan and cook until they are slightly soft (don’t overcook or they will be mushy in the lasagna).
 
Once the veggies are done, you can start assembly.
I placed a bit of my sauce on the pan and laid 3 noodles down.  I smoothed a bit of the tofu and spinach mixture on top. 
 
Then, I placed some of the veggies on top.  I continued to layer like that (sauce, noodles, tofu, veggies) until there were no noodles left.  Then, I sprinkled a bit of the nutritional yeast on top. 
I baked it for 40 minutes at 350 and it came out great.  I did not take a picture of the cut lasagna piece on a beautiful plate, just because well, I forgot, but I assure you that it was awesome.  And the best part was, it was just as great the next day reheated! 
 
So, let me know if you give it a try and tell me what you think! 
 
I am off to yoga tonight (isn’t that what vegans do?)  I’ll let you know how it goes.
Have a great night! 
 
Pepper xoxoxox
 
About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Running, Uncategorized, Vegan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

