Vegan, Take One….

A few months ago, my sister Blondie and her husband started juicing like crazy in response to watching the film “Fat Sick and Nearly Dead”.  If you are an Amazon Prime member, you can watch it for free.   They were so inspired by the movie that they decided to make some serious dietary changes.  So, it did not suprise me when she told me a few weeks ago that she and her hubby had decided to become vegetarian after watching the documentary “Vegucated”, which you can also watch for free as an Amazon prime member (Amazon is not a sponsor of the blog, BTW, but if you know someone there, have them call me, K?).  Anyway, I waited a while to watch the movie because they had warned me that some of the animal footage was pretty brutal.  I have lived off of chicken and eggs for the past year and a half as a fitness athlete, so I was not sure if I was ready to let go of these items in my diet.  But, I WAS curious about the movie and I love me a good documentary and so I finally decided to check it out. 

The premise of the movie is that a vegan gal is interested to find out if she could teach everyday meat lovers to become vegan.  So, she puts an ad on Craig’s List and asks other New Yorkers if they would be open to trying the vegan lifestyle for 6 weeks.  She selects 3 people from different walks of life and takes them through what being vegan entails.  It is neat to watch their journeys and see what their trials are surrounding their new lifestyle and how it affects them socially and physically.  All in all, I think it is a very informative movie and definitely inspired me to learn more about being vegan.   The scenes showing how animals are processed are extremely eye opening (more so than in Food, Inc.) and I must say that I cried while I was watching it.  I think this is when I realized that I really don’t need to be eating animal products. 

When I started “bodybuilding” last February, I thought that I would die not eating my beloved Greek yogurt and my creamy milk in my coffee.  I got shivers when I was told that I couldn’t have cheese anymore….  I mean, I could use half of the parm cheese container in one meal!  But, over time, I just didn’t really care anymore.  It just seemed like a distant memory.   I think that I could be that way with chicken, turkey and eggs too (I rarely ever eat red meat).  It may be hard at first, but over time, I may not miss them.  So, I am going to give it a shot. “The Great Veggie Experiment”, I will call it.  So far, so good.  Over the past day and a half, I have not had any meat or dairy and it is suprisingly easy.  I have been eating oatmeal with vegan protein powder, Boca burgers, Smart hot dogs, lots and lots of veggies, peanut butter and kamut cakes.  I went to the library with the kids last night to see a puppet show (Puppets Pizzazz, which was awesome!) and took out some vegan recipe books.  There are so many delicious looking meals that I cannot wait to try.  Oh, and you know how I feel about blogs – I already found one that is just amazing!   “Oh She Glows” is about Angela, a vegan who has a similar background story to mine.  I already love her and cannot wait to try all her recipes. 

I am excited to try this “experiment” and see what happens!!!

Have you watched any food documentaries?  Had any eye opening reactions to any?  I am interested to see what you think!

Pepper, the vegan (for now 🙂 )  xoxox

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan, Take One….

  1. Blonde says:

    Pepper! You’ve always been an inspiration!! Love the idea that- perhaps- just maybe- I might be able to inspire you!! I can honestly say, I’m NOT missing meat, but can not… For the life of me… Give up that damned flavored creamer! Lol although I do find I’m moving more and more into the Silk world of creamers! So- veggy on my fearless health warrior!! Xoxo

    • Blondie – you inspire me so much more than you will ever know! I hear ya about the creamer. I like the coconut creamer. It comes in the flavored variety – have you tried any of those? Thank you so much for inspiring me to do this. It may be placebo effect right now, but I have never felt more clear headed…. Love ya!!!!

Leave a Reply

