Bodybuilding Cupcakes

Have you ever seen a bodybuilding cupcake?  Well let me introduce you to one!

Image

If you have ever dieted for a fitness competition (or just dieted, period), you may just appreciate this little gem of a dessert.  The cake itself is from Jamie Eason – fitness model extroadinare…. here is what SHE looks like….

Image

Photo from Furiouslyfit.com

Well, Jamie makes the most amazing protein bars out of oat flour and protein powder.  Here is the recipe for the chocolate protein bars that I turned into cupcakes. 

Now, the fun part of this recipe is the FROSTING!!!!!  I think it is delicious…. my friend’s 4 year old, however, took a lick and thought it was disgusting, but then again, he has never dieted down to 11% body fat, so he doesn’t yet know how amazing this is. 

Here is what I did to make the frosting.  I took 3 avocados (I was making enough frosting for 24 cupcakes, BTW) and scooped the insides into a food processor.

Image

Then, I added 2 Tbsp of Unsweetened Cocoa Powder, 1/2 cup of ideal (this is a sugar substitute that you can find online), 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 1 tsp of butter extract (I got mine at my local Wegman’s grocery store but they also have it at Whole Foods).

I gave all the ingredients a whirl in the processor. 

Whipped

Now, you can certainly just slap some of this deliciousness onto your cooled cupcakes and devour, however, I was presenting mine at a party next to the disgusting, sugar laden cupcakes from a box regular cupcakes, so I wanted to make them look JUST as pretty…. 

So, I used a piping bag.  I put the bag into a glass like this and put the frosting in:

Then the fun part – piping the frosting onto the cakes:

Piping the frosting

And voila!  Here is the finished product:

Finished product

I highly recommend making the cupcakes in the metal liners instead of paper, as the paper will stick to the sides and it is hard to get off.  I have put the recipe into SparkPeople recipes and the nutrient breakdown is as follows:

I made 24 cupcakes, so I tripled the recipe I had for the protein bars.  Each cupcake (with frosting has:

84 calories

4.1 g Fat

8.9 g Carbs, 2.6 of which is dietary fiber

4.4 g of protein

Try them and let me know what you think.  I know avocado frosting may seem weird at first, but trust me, it is suprisingly delish (and healthy!).  You will never eat frosting out of a can again!

Happy baking!

Pepper xoxo

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Bodybuilding, Desserts, Figure Competition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bodybuilding Cupcakes

  1. Sarah says:

    I missed trying these cupcakes!!! They look so yummy:)

  2. Pingback: ABC, Easy as 1,2,3… | Life….With a Dash of Pepper

  3. losing50laps says:

    Hmmm those look kinda good. 😉

Leave a Reply

