Summer Fun Update and a Good Book Review!

So, now that I have had a little workout setback, I have some time to tell you about how things are going with regard to my goal of making my kid’s summer a truly magical one.  I have been highlighting the chart that I shared with you guys last month and have been making some good progress. 

Image

 There are a few things on the chart that sadly, we will probably not do.  One of them is “float in the Great Salt Lake

But remember – some of the items on this chart are specific to Utah and we live in PA (and according to Google Maps, 2200 miles away….)

We are making good progress however, and there are some ideas on the chart that I am still so amped to do – like take cookies to a fire station.  I mean, how appreciative will those firefighters be to get store-bought freezer dough homemade cookies!!!! I have also started taking  A LOT more pictures lately and have been sending something I call  “the weekend in pictures”, which is a montage of the weekend, to my mother-in-law.  She now looks forward to Monday so she can get to see pictures of the kiddos!

One of the blocks on the chart – “roast marshmallows over a campfire” also inspired me to invite a few of our friends over on a Friday night after work for  a “Campfire Party”. 

We set up our bounce house (which is also a block on the chart – go me!) and we roasted hotdogs and made s’mores.  The adults had a few drinks and relaxed while the kids played.  It  was a big success and we will totally do it again. 

So, all in all, I must say that the chart has been really helpful and inspiring. 

Also helpful is the book I just read.  It is called “extra lean Family”  by Mario Lopez.   You can check it out here:  http://www.amazon.com/Extra-Lean-Family-Achieve-Familys/dp/B005M485GU/ref=pd_sim_b_1

In this great book, Mario offers healthy, efficient solutions to making family meal time a reality.  He stresses the imporatnce of doing a little prep work on the weekend as an investment to having more time during the week to be able to eat together as a family and not have to resort to eating “fast food”, which is a reality for many families who have lots of activities going on during the week!   Johnny has baseball and Jenny has gymnastics and Mallory has piano practice, etc.  It all adds up.  A little prep work can save you in the long run. 

His recipes sound really yummy and I can’t wait to try some of them:  Cinnamon-Banana French Toast (made with my awesome oatmeal bread from Whole Foods!), Spinach and Red Pepper Frittata (maybe I will freeze these in muffin tins!) and Orange Glazed Salmon…. yum!  (Oh and the family fun chart has a block that says “Try New Recipe”…. Winning!)  He also offers meal plans and grocery lists for the week – and if you have been reading my blog, you know that I can totally appreciate that.   Oh and last but not least, the book is pretty good because well, there are lots of pictures or Mario and he is pretty good eye candy… 🙂

So, check it out and let me know what you think.  

Have you read any good books lately?  Done any cool stuff with your kids?  I wanna hear from you!

Your friend,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Family Fun, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

