Slightly “Derailed”

So, I had another awesome post all ready to go explaining a new program that I was excited to start.  I even finished the workout from day one!  And after I finished the workout from day one, I realized that I had hurt my back.  Badly.  So much so that I needed to seek the help of an orthopedic doctor.  So, my day one attempt was a bust.

“What was I doing to injure myself”, you ask?   Clean and Presses….  Let my overachieving be your lesson, folks.  If you are going to do this little exercise, make sure you go very light on the weight at first and watch lots of youtube videos before you attempt it.  Want one now?  Here ya go!

 Better yet, have a certified trainer at your gym SHOW you how to do it. 

So, what I ended up with by going balls out and doing 3 sets of 15 Clean and Presses with 55 pounds was a sprained ligament in my back.  Ouch!  I received a steroid injection (hm… will that make my muscles pop?  hee hee hee)  and a numbing agent so my muscles wouldn’t spasm. 

Lesson learned the hard way.  I was give clearance to still work out, so STAY TUNED for the actual posts about the exciting new program I am ebarking on.  Until then, CLEAN your house and PRESS your laundry…. but keep those words out of the gym until you know what you are doing (unlike moi).

Your friend,

Pepper

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

