Pretty Sneaky!

If your kids are anything like mine, they think vegetables are blechhhy… (yes, that is a word)…. 

Last night, I made them pizza for dinner (and before you go thinking that I am all Martha and stuff – the crust was one of those “refrigeration roll” packages).  The package said to prebake the crust before you put the toppings on. 

I had my food processor out.  I looked in the fridge in my veggie drawer and found baby carrots.  I had a lightbulb moment. 

I put the baby carrots in the food processor and gave them a whizz.  Once they were shredded, I topped the pizza crust with them and gave them a little press:

I threw the pizza crust with the carrots on it in the oven for 5 minutes.  Then I topped it with the sauce (I just used a few tablespoons of plain canned tomato sauce).  Then, I topped with the cheese. 

 I baked it the rest of the way according to the package, which was around 14 minutes. 

When I served it, my daughter said, “why is there weird cheese on my pizza?”  I didn’t say a word.  She took a bite.  Then she said “why are there carrots on my pizza?”.  Okay, so not so stealthy after all.  BUT, she did eat 2 pieces and my son ate 3.  I call that success! 

What stealthy ways do you get your kids to eat veggies????

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

