Short Circuit

Happy Friday All!!! 

I hope you are having a great week!  Hooray for the weekend! 

Ironically, Fitness Cheerleader asked us to share our favorite workout today.  I was already thinking before I found out what our blogging challenge was for today that I would like to share the routine I did last night at the gym.  It is quick and intense and I am seriously feeling it today!  Oh, and I just want to add that I was curious to see how my strength was doing now that I am “plant powered” and I was pleasantly surprised to see that I was able to actually lift HEAVIER weights.  For example, I am used to doing bicep curls with 15 pound weights and last night, they seemed so comfortable that I switched to 20’s for the last 2 rounds of the circuit.  So, that is a great thing and made me really happy.  Hm…. I see “vegan bodybuilder” on my resume soon….  :-)

Schweddy Mess Circuit Workout (focus on upper body weights and plyo legs)

It is a circuit style workout, so what I did was go through each complete circuit and would take really quick rests as needed and then power through each circuit 3 times.  I would then take a minute rest before starting the next circuit.  After the circuits were complete, I finished up with 20 minutes on the elliptical.

Circuit 1:
Dumbbell bicep curls – alternate for 12 each arm
Bosu ball switch runs.  The best way I can explain this is you put your foot lightly on the bosu ball and then quickly switch feet.  Do this for 30 seconds.
Push ups with feet on glider disks.  Get in push up position and when you go down, your feet will spread out with the glider disks.  When ou come up, your feet will glide back in.  Do 15 reps.
Circuit 2:
Dumbbell frontal shoulder raise.  Alternate arms, 12 each side.
Bench jumps. Use an aerobic step and jump up with both feet landing on step.  Walk down and then jump back up.  Repeat for 30 seconds.
Upright row into side lateral raise.  Do an upright row and then immediately do a side lateral raise (you will be doing these with both arms at the same time).  Do for 12 reps.
Circuit 3:
Cable squat row.  This is one of my favorite exercises of all time.  It works your glutes and your back.  Here is a youTube demo.  Do 15 reps each arm. 
Aerobic bench run ups for 30 seconds.  This one is pretty easy to do – just run up and down the aerobic bench.  I usually do 15 seconds using my right leg running first and then 15 seconds with my left leg running first.  I hope that makes sense. :-)
Smith bar “pull ups” Do 10 reps

I hope you enjoy this workout as much as I did. 

Also, if you have any questions at all, please just ask!!!  I am always happy to answer any questions you may have! 

There are so many awesome blogs out there with amazing workouts that I use a lot.  Here are a few of my favorite places to get great workouts from:

www.jillfit.com  Jill Coleman is AHHHHMAZING!!! She and her Jillfit team are just incredible with their wealth of knowledge.  I sometimes print out one of these workouts and leave the papers in the locker room in hopes that others will try them too.  They are elliptical workouts and they are sweatfests. Oh and another thing that is really cool about Jill is that she is married to one of the brothers who founded the Metabolic Effect diet. While you are at it, check out their amazing website – www.metaboliceffect.com

Another great workout source is – http://carrotsncake.com/fitness/workouts – I can’t say enough great stuff about Tina’s blog.  She has really great treadmill workouts that I use often!  I love that she switches things up.

And of course, I love, love, love the bodybuilding bible.  This is the one stop shop for all of your bodybuilding needs :-) .

What workout do you love?

Pepper xoxoxo

About Pepper A.K.A "Greek Lightning"

Wife, mom of 2, roller derby athlete, lover of heavy weights and sprinting like the wind, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods addict, pharmaceutical employee by day, bodybuilding cupcake baking superhero by night.
This entry was posted in Bodybuilding, Running, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Short Circuit

  1. wcatalano says:

    ooh this is really helpful! thank you! and i don’t even know what half of the props that you used are, so ill have to go see if i can find them in the gym

    • My pleasure Whitney! I was just reading on your blog about your new obsession with Pilates. I love the reformer and have been dying to get back on it. Do you have any specific type that you love? Do you do both mat and reformer?

      • wcatalano says:

        i haven’t tried the reformer yet but i really want to! i haven’t been in one place long enough to take the introductory classes for the reformer, but once i move back out to boston on tuesday i’ll be able to. i did do a spine corrector at a studio i was at this week, and i loved it! so challenging

      • ooohhhh that sounds cool… what is a spine corrector?

  2. I’m catching up on my blogs :) This looks like a really great workout. Plus I want to check out the bodybuilding bible. Looks interesting.

Leave a Reply

